jump to navigation

The Great West Detective Agency October 5, 2014

Posted by bobv451 in e-books, history, outlaws, westerns, Wild West.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

October 7. Write it down. Check it out…the release of The Great West Detective Agency by “Jackson Lowry,” of course. It has been a long trip getting here, or so it seems. Time travels in crazy spurts and long stretches like silly putty being pulled endlessly. The wait is over now and the book, both print and ebook, is available.

GWDA is my attempt at combining some elements of the traditional western and some humor a la Maverick with a mystery thrown in. I don’t think mysteries have to be murder mysteries necessarily. There are plenty of gunfights and bodies littering the pages, but this is a “Maltese Falcon” type of story with the ultimate discovery, amid political infighting and double-crosses, popping up at the end to wrap up a lot of subplots.

And it all starts with a gambler being hired to find a lovely lady’s poor little puppy dog.

This is the kind of story I enjoy reading. Something trivial snowballs into full-scale mayhem. GWDA has Russian revolutionaries, filibusterers, the possibility of Colorado seceding from the Union, millions in hidden treasure–and it all begins with Amanda Baldridge having her puppy stolen.

One thing about novels I’ve enjoyed is speculating on the backgrounds of characters. I’ve addressed that here with 4 Lives (in both print and ebook), a four story background on characters that play important roles in the story. In addition, the GWDA’s first chapter is included as a taste of the book itself. This is a good way to ease into the world of ne’er-do-well gambler Lucas Stanton and how he came to be the reluctant owner of the GWDA.

It was great fun to write. I hope you’ll find it as much fun to read.

Great West Detective Agency

Great West Detective Agency

Comments»

1. Amanda - October 5, 2014

This sounds really interesting, Bob. I look forward to reading it. A gambler looking for a lovely lady’s lost dog. That sentence has it all. A rogue of a gambler, a pretty woman, and a dog. Cannot beat that combination.

Also, as a former student of yours, I thought I’d let you know my novel, “A Bother of Bodies” will also be available this week. I sold it to Divertir Publishing and I ‘m so excited. Thanks for all your help.

Cheers,
Amanda

2. Bob Vardeman - October 5, 2014

Congratulations! While many of my students sold nf articles, you may well be the first to have sold a novel. Did you start in 2007 or so? Memory says you were interested in doing sf, but this obviously a mystery. Is Long Ridge still in business? If so, contact them and let them know. About this time last year LR stopped taking new students and intended to wind down by this summer. Since I had only 1 or 2 lessons a month, I bailed in January.

Let me know when the novel is available (and details where to get it, etc) and I’ll push it on FB. Again congrats and may you have even more success writing!

3. D Gary Grady - October 6, 2014

This sounds like a great premise and I’m really looking forward to reading it. I’m also delighted to see a new post from you. It’s been long enough that I was starting to worry.

bobv451 - October 7, 2014

It was fun to write. If it does well, there’ll be more. With Big 5 publishing schedules, tho, any sequel might be 2 or 3 years down the road. Time has been taken up just…writing. Living, too. Enough unpleasant stuff to keep me on edge, but mostly writing. Just finished a weird western novel (working title: Punished: Undead) that’s the first of a trilogy from Western Trailblazers. SF is next up, another western during NaNoWriMo and a space opera to finish the year. Off to the Lincoln County Cowboy Symposium soon and WFC in Nov, so travel keeps the feet moving, too.

4. Amanda Capper - October 13, 2014

Bob, you certainly know how to start a novel. The opening scene of The Great West Detective Agency is perfect, exactly what I was hoping for. I’m going to drop you a quick note since you asked me to let you know where to buy my book, and then get right back to yours.

A Bother of Bodies, by A. J. Capper, is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository (free shipping worldwide) and from the publisher, Divertir Publishing. I guess there’s also a book store called Powell’s in the States (I’m Canadian, to refresh your memory :)) that carries it as well. My website, http://www.ajcapper.com, should be updated this week and will have ‘where to buy’ buttons.

2007 sounds about right. I still log into the Break into Print forum and keep up with other students. Mary Rosenblum edited my novel and I mention both you and her in my acknowledgements.

Love to stay and chat, but I’ve a good book I must get back to!

Cheers,
Amanda

bobv451 - October 15, 2014

Powells is a great bookstore in Portland, OR. Top of the line bookseller.

Oct 8 release on A BOTHER OF BODIES. Ok, got my kindle copy. I’ll save it for my very long trip to DC in a couple weeks. Good luck with your novel!

Bob


Leave a Reply

