jump to navigation

Eggs-zactly February 2, 2012

Posted by bobv451 in history, hobby.
trackback

One of the things I appreciate and even marvel at are Faberge eggs. I remember seeing the first egg (a white ceramic egg that opened to a hen and hen’s nest inside–all solid gold, of course) at a museum in Ft. Worth. This was part of the Malcolm Forbes collection, which toured a lot. Later I saw another egg that was purported to be the first Faberge egg at the Matilda Geddings Gray travelling collection in New Orleans.

Aside: I also held in my hand a Faberge stone elephant (bleh) and a bell push with the original electric cord still attached. The bell push itself was machined like an egg. My hand shook as I held it–and I could have bought it for $1200. Reputable dealer along Royal Street in New Orleans, lovely artifact of the Czar, would have incited me to put in a bell system to summon my butler. Only thing was, this was 1987 and I didn’t have $1200. But I held that bell push so long the Goth clerk asked for it back, fearing I might stroke out then and there.

Over the years I have seen various eggs from the Forbes collection, but the biggest display was in San Diego in 1990. The Armory allowed eggs never seen outside Russia to tour along with the Forbes collection. The Trans Siberian Railway egg was silver and onyx outside, with odd looking steel working wind-up train inside. Only it wasn’t steel. It was platinum. The Standart egg showed the Russian Imperial yacht in a crystal egg. And and and I could go on.

The Forbes collection was sold to Viktor Vekselberg in ’04 and he is now the world’s largest owner of eggs, including 11 Imperial eggs. Another 9 are in the Kremlin Armory. Thirty more surviving Imperial eggs are scattered elsewhere.

What triggered this blog was Dennis forwarding a notice of the Virginia Museum display. I think they have 5 eggs. When I win the lottery, I might not be able to afford an egg but I would certainly go see such collections. Here is a nice shot of the Imperial Napoleonic Egg.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

