jump to navigation

Clutter January 15, 2012

Posted by bobv451 in business, e-books, movies & TV, Time, web & computers, writing.
trackback

Not on my desk, though that is a problem. The cats burrow down and make nests in it, causing dislocations in the strata and making bookkeeping/finding receipts that much harder. No, I am talking about the time nibblers that have consumed the day. Looking back I don’t know where I could have just walked away.

My mail clients refuse to talk to comcast so I can send emails (but I can still receive). It’s worse than I thought. Not a single one of the emails I’ve sent through comcast in the past 8 weeks has actually been delivered. No sign that the email is being rejected–in fact, it comes up saying it has been sent. Only it has not been delivered. I migrated from Thunderbird to Outlook Express, thinking this worked. Nope. Tried another client called Pegasus. It at least gives me an error msg so I know it’s not getting through.

I spent 45 minutes this morning with a comcast tech support guy. Upshot: not our problem, go waste your time with somebody else. Something changed at comcast in December to cause this. I worked a couple hrs and resurrected an old version of Thunderbird (and got my address book and some emails back–the archived email is still lost in the entrails of my ‘puter). It was configured properly but doesn’t work now. Since none of the email clients works, that means something has to be wrong at the funnel, meaning comcast. Help!

That chewed up several hours. Then Scott Phillips asked if I had put Stink of Flesh in ebook on the Kindle. For some reason I hadn’t. Took me a couple hrs prepping it and getting it posted, only to have Amazon come back and ask if I am the author since they assume I have stolen it. The print copy has been for sale on Amazon since August of ’05, but the ebook is suspect with all the same info. This is more time wasted.

Got the website updated late. Need to take out the trash. Been caught in a barrage of schedulings for the coming week. It is 6pm and I haven’t written a single word today (and I kinda wanted to see the season finale on Hell on Wheels–that might get postponed.)

So my life is cluttered and ducks have nibbled away at my time and with little progress on my part. But if you want a real blog, tomorrow I’m guestblogging at Write Well, Sell to Write. How to do dynamite first sentences (that ole hook everyone talks about–what to look for, what to avoid). Check it out. Let me know what you think.

Comments»

1. Writing Jobs - January 15, 2012

This was a very nice post. I enjoyed reading your blog today very much.

Love to write?

Check out these Writing Jobs

2. ComcastMark - January 17, 2012

Sorry for the trouble. If you still need help on this, let me know. I work for Comcast and I can reach out to my contacts to look into the problem.

Mark Casem
Comcast Corp.
National Customer Operations
We_can_help@cable.comcast.com


Leave a Reply

