jump to navigation

A Christmas Story December 24, 2010

Posted by bobv451 in death, movies, nostalgia, westerns.
trackback

It’s actually Christmas Eve but I expect to be busy fixing food tomorrow (one way to diet is for me to cook my own food) although I have an abundance of it from a variety of sources. Friends, neighbors, leftovers, you name it, the fridge is overflowing.

But there is a vague Xmas tradition of seeing movies in the theater and yesterday was the day. First saw True Grit and loved it. What a wonderful western the Coen brothers have crafted her. I actually don’t remember much of the original, having seen it once some 40 years ago. From what I remember, though, this is better. Lots better. I was especially taken with how they crafted the dialogue to take you back to another time and keep you wrapped up in the mythology.

The other movie was Black Swan. I hadn’t expected to like this since I have actively loathed earlier Aronofsky movies and if I had to have an all time worst list, Fountain would be on it. And after her stint in the last 3 Star Wars movies, I doubted Natalie Portman would be any good (I hated V for Vendetta, too, in spite of Hugo Weaving). Somehow, everything comes together in this movie, maybe in the same way John Wayne movies did. John Wayne played John Wayne. If that persona fit, it was a good movie. If it failed (Genghis Khan, anyone?) the movie died a messy death on screen. I have come to think of Natalie Portman as a frigid psycho bitch. It might just be she hit the stereotype perfectly and delivered a superb performance. Or she might be a fpb. However it is, Black Swan is as creepy and good as one of my favorite horror movies, Repulsion. For about the same reasons. Love stories of people going bonkers.

Good holiday fare, right? A 14 yr old girl out for vengeance and a ballerina going crazy before your very eyes.

But my all time favorite Xmas movie has to be A Christmas Story. Jean Shepherd hit the right note, made a funny, nostalgic, insightful movie. And any classic Xmas movie has to have a memorable line that isn’t “every time a bell rings…”

“You’ll shoot your eye out.” What comedy, what a great movie. With that I wish you and yours a very merry Christmas. We’ll deal with 2011 later.

It’s actually Christmas Eve but I expect to be busy fixing food tomorrow (one way to diet is for me to cook my own food) although I have an abundance of it from a variety of sources. Friends, neighbors, leftovers, you name it, the fridge is overflowing.

But there is a vague Xmas tradition of seeing movies in the theater and yesterday was the day. First Saw True Grit and loved it. What a wonderful western the Coen brothers have crafted her. I actually don’t remember much of the original, having seen it once some 40 years ago. From what I remember, though, this is better. Lots better. I was especially taken with how they crafted the dialogue to take you back to another time and keep you wrapped up in the mythology.

The other movie was Black Swan. I hadn’t expected to like this since I have actively loathed earlier Aronofsky movies and if I had to have an all time worst list, Fountain would be on it. And after her stint in the last 3 Star Wars movies, I doubted Natalie Portman would be any good (I hated V for Vendetta, too, in spite of Hugo Weaving). Somehow, everything comes together in this movie, maybe in the same way John Wayne movies did. John Wayne played John Wayne. If that persona fit, it was a good movie. If it failed (Genghis Khan, anyone?) the movie died a messy death on screen. I have come to think of Natalie Portman as a frigid psycho bitch. It might just be she hit the stereotype perfectly and delivered a superb performance. Or she might be a fpb. However it is, Black Swan is as creepy and good as one of my favorite horror movies, Repulsion. For about the same reasons. Love stories of people going bonkers.

Good holiday fare, right? A 14 yr old girl out for vengeance and a ballerina going crazy before your very eyes.

But my all time favorite Xmas movie has to be A Christmas Story. Jean Shepherd hit the right note, made a funny, nostalgic, insightful movie. And any classic Xmas movie has to have a memorable line that isn’t “every time a bell rings…”

“You’ll shoot your eye out.” What comedy, what a great movie. With that I wish you and yours a very merry Christmas. We’ll deal with 2011 later.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

