jump to navigation

Talk Like A Pirate Day September 19, 2010

Posted by bobv451 in e-books, fantasy, VIPub, westerns, writing.
trackback

I hate being sick, especially when it takes away from my “down time” between major projects. I had hardly finished God of War 2 when I got the sore throat, coughing (no longer coughing up a lung–both are long gone now), sneezing phlegmy and worst of all, as soon as I’d finish a small task, it was back to bed for a 3 hr nap to rest up.

It’s been close to a week and I still feel that way, but my gravelly voice makes talking like a pirate today easier. Or more believable, at any rate.

Query to the readers: What are your favorite monsters, both crypto and cinematic?

Another query, though this might overburden the pipeline: Tell me about oral traditions in the west. Cowboy poetry. Campfire tall tales. Sitting on the porch and spinning yarns. Western and cowboy songs (not to be confused with C&W)

Been a raft of folks asking about e-books and how to post them. I’ll get down to my own after I finish this (and have another nap–hope it won’t last 3 hours, but…) I am interested in readers using the Kindle to pick up westerns, since this seems the bulk of the questions this time around from other writers. SF folks are always at the cutting edge of techno gadgetry but I get the notion it’s not necessarily so for western readers. (I’d check my e-sales on a myriad westerns but it doesn’t look as if those numbers are separated from print sales in any meaningful way).

In the midst of sneezing, I was also laughing like a fool at Scott Phillips new novel Squirrel Eyes. I had the pleasure of giving it an advanced read. More when it shows up at your nearest e-book store.

Arrr, me hearties. I have exhausted myself once more. For pirate stories check out Piraticals and the ever popular print anthology Blue Kingdoms: Buxom Buccaneers

Comments»

1. mikidemillion - September 19, 2010

When I saw your title, I had to stop and share my pirate story. At work I always have the radio on in the background. One radio host loved pirate-talk and he used to do an entire hour of it occasionally on his show. ‘Talk Like A Pirate Day’ was celebrated like a national holiday on his show. All of the other hosts would talk about it on their shows as well, how much this one guy loved pirate-talk. I have to say, even when I wasn’t too familiar with him as a host, I always leaned in close to listen when he was on the air. There was something about him, his great interest in the subjects brought up, his humor at the ready, and his willingness to let others discuss their opinions, even when he disagreed.

One day he mentioned on-air about his silly nervousness before an operation he was to undergo the following day. He’d had the same operation before, but hadn’t been so apprehensive in the past. He talked out his fears on the show, and others called in to wish him well and to dispel any fear.

The next day I heard it on the news. He died on the operating table. It was such a shock, especially when hearing him the day before. But I will always smile when I hear about ‘Talk Like A Pirate Day’ because I think of him with great affection and how he loved his pirate-talk.


Leave a Reply

