jump to navigation

“Black ‘Radar Love’ Velvet” March 31, 2010

Posted by bobv451 in writing.
trackback

Depending on where I am in the writing process, the music I listen to helps grease the skids. Radar Love and Autobahn (and maybe Highway Star or Riding the Storm Out) are great to compose by. The tempo is about what I need to keep typing. When the song ends or I come tot he end of the CD, I take a break, then come back and do it all over again.

But rewriting requires a different pace. Something like Black Velvet (the Alanna Miles version–I liked the other that came out at the same time better, but not only can’t I remember who did it, finding a copy since it wasn’t a hit by that singer is hard) lets me think, make changes, then push on. Pink Floyd works well at this stage, too.

Working on synopses requires somewhat more concentration, or at least a different kind. I don’t listen to much classical but this is probably when I would. Lawrence of Arabia or Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon are perfect. Or something with a slower tempo.

And then there is the mood when I have to have silence to work. Not often, but sometimes. Usually this works best very late at night (or early in the morning.) Mostly, I use the music to drown out the distracting background noises since I live at the corner of a busy street and not far from a jr high school. And if I turn up the music enough I can even smother the (*^#@ telephone. The telephone is a time waster, it is an interruption, it is to be shunned if not banned. Mostly when it rings my first thought is “Who died?” or if I am in an optimistic mood “What went wrong?”

Finishing the rewrite on the western now since it is due tomorrow. Time for something similar to Black Velvet. Maybe one of the compilation CDs my son made for me…

Comments»

1. Kim - March 31, 2010

I must agree with you whole-heartedly on your opinion of the telephone. 🙂

Came across this blog post about an author (Karl Marlantes) who had 30 years of rejections before publishing his book – post is titled “Persistence Pays”:

http://leaderbusiness.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

