jump to navigation

Look At That February 2, 2010

Posted by bobv451 in dinosaurs, fantasy, movies, robot rights, sci-fi, science fiction, sense of wonder.
trackback

Posters

Lovely posters, pulp style and art deco and style I can’t even describe. The one I find myself being most morose over is the Blade Runner poster. One of my favorite movies (of any genre), it just doesn’t work for me. Too messy, too intent on cramming everything in. On the other hand, the Krull poster (not one of my favorite movies, those Francesca Annis looks fabulous in it) looks more like the Alien poster. Doesn’t tell you a thing about the movie, which might well be intentional.

I have to wonder how effective a lobby poster is generating interest in a movie. A trailer can spark all kinds of interest but it is usually 2-3 minutes worth of sampling from the movie itself, although clever trailer editors can include stuff not in the movie. But then, trailers can also tell you “the butler did it” and otherwise ruin suspense if you are waiting for the dramatic scene already given away. Some of the posters are wonderful art for terrible movies. The Starship Troopers poster is an example. Hideously bad movie, worse adaptation of the book, but it is an eerie poster.

Right now, the creepiest poster out there is the Alice in Wonderland poster with Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter. It sorta…scares…me. I’d wanted to see the movie before, but with the trailer showing an almost as creepy Cheshire cat, this is a definite.

Bottom line: which of these posters would you hang on your wall? I have a Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow poster framed and hung. I used to have the original Star Wars poster. Such might be dismissed as mere commercial art but that ignores the point that some of it is good art. Period. I always enjoy walking around the theater looking at the posters, which might be as close as I get to an art museum in any given year.

Comments»

1. Charles - February 2, 2010

Some great stuff in that link! Serenity is horrendous (though the movie was excellent), and Solaris is downright appalling. I’d hang Underworld on my wall if I was single, it’s hokey but the wolf in the moon is a nice counterpoint, and the Wall-E poster is pretty good as well.
Art is art, good or bad. All you have to do is pick up a recent commercial-art or commercial-illustration magazine to prove that anyone dissing “commercial” art is just wrong.

2. bobv451 - February 2, 2010

Ah, come on…it’s not the Underworld poster, is it? Fess up! (I have even watched, ulp, Van Helsing, a few times because Kate Beckinsale looks so hot.)

3. Charles - February 3, 2010

Alright, I confess, it’s Kate! KateKateKateKateKate!

4. bobv451 - February 4, 2010

Whoo hoo, Kate Beckinsale in Underwold 4, only it’ll be vampires in space.

http://io9.com/5463914/kate-beckinsale-to-rejoin-underworld-4-in-space


Leave a Reply

