jump to navigation

Your Only Excuse For Not Being There Is Winning the Lottery June 12, 2012

Posted by bobv451 in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I am talking about the Albuquerque Comic Expo, of course. You should have been there and you missed out big time unless you were collecting the big Powerball prize.

The guests were super, the exhibits topnotch, the costumes were many and varied. And here is the booth Scott Phillips and I shared.

Image

And through Scott’s myriad connections in the indie film world, I managed to get a booth babe to help out this year. Ashley Bryce spent the day Saturday drawing in potential book readers. Some of them might even have diverted their eyeballs to the printed word, but I don’t fault them if they didn’t. (Ashley on the left, Sarah on the right).

Image

Meeting fans such as Luis makes such a weekend worthwhile. Talking with all the artists and watching the guests go about their work amazes me. Jim Kelly was indefatigable. Katee Sackhoff was everywhere, on the floor talking to fans when she wasn’t signing pictures. Dean Stockwell was an unannounced guest, but I only saw him once. Guests, even last minute ones, ought to be advertised. Comics mainstay Stan Lee let folks take his picture out on the display floor. I just wasn’t fast enough or close enough to get my picture taken with him, alas.
Image

Marvelous costumes abounded but my skill using a cellphone camera are nil. Here are a few that actually turned out ok.

ImageImageImage

The one costume that blew me away I didn’t even get a blurry shot of. If anyone can supply a good picture, I’ll send you an autographed copy of Steampunk’d. The lady had on (obviously from the prize) a steampunk outfit, mostly white motif with red highlights, with an incredible lens over right eye/cog face piece. I told her I’d get her picture when she returned for a copy of Steampunk’d. She never came back and I missed a final chance Saturday to snap a picture as she probably rushed out for the costume contest (which I understand was incredible but unfortunately missed–there are downsides to manning your own table)

Tonight begins the Western Writers of America conference (and this morning I got the great news that I’d sold 2 more westerns–this makes the remainder of 2012 very very busy). I leave you with more pictures from ACE 2012 and high praise for Greg, Mike and Craig for putting on such a fun convention.

Image

ImageImage

Comments»

1. bobv451 - June 12, 2012

Don’t know why I couldn’t size the photos properly–WordPress changed the way I had to post! I wanna go back to the old way (that worked!)

2. Bridgesburning Chris King - June 12, 2012

Oh I Love it! The pics you posted were great and just the fact you were in the midst of it all is so exciting! Last time I saw Stan Lee he was making an appearance on the Big Bang Theory!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,170 other followers

