jump to navigation

And the Winner is Beetlebaum… March 19, 2010

Posted by bobv451 in conventions, movies, movies & TV, westerns, writing.
trackback

For those of you who have never even heard of Spike Jones this was one of his novelty “songs” that has stuck with me. The character in question is a racehorse who lags throughout the race until…you’ve guessed the conclusion.

This is the way I feel right now. I’m behind in my writing schedule but getting so close to finishing the next series western. Tomorrow? Quite possibly. Then it can sit for a week or so and be delivered by April Fool’s Day. But the race is long and I feel like I’m lagging behind. Need to do my taxes RSN or the accountant will burst a blood vessel. The problem there is that financial info is still trickling in (by law they have to get all updates/corrections to me by April 1, which is hardly enough time–I refuse to file an extension wanting the vampires out of my life for a few scant seconds between mailing the return and sending in my next qtrly).

But it’s at this stage of the book that I feel energized and a little frightened. Have I put in everything? Is there room left to put in everything? Notes! Scribble more notes to myself to check if the names are consistent. Did I really mistake the Frank character for the Anton villain? No! More action, shoot ‘em up, get rolling to the conclusion and, believe it or not, synopsis or not, I am still arguing with myself how to end the book. Good triumphs, evil is crushed, but the denouement? I won’t decide on that until the last couple pages to see what feels…right.

Snippets. RIP, Davy Crockett. Sad to see that Fess Parker died. I virtually blackmailed my parents to take me to the drive-in to see Great Locomotive Chase. But Davy, Davy Crockett, was the king of the wild frontier.

A Tom Swift (Sr, Jr, III and IV) convention in July in San Diego. Chairman has asked me if I can round up other TS writers. If you’re out there or know of same, drop me a line. Or James Keeline–you gotta know him. He’s *the* authority.

Back to Leadville, the Pinkerton detectives, counterfeit coins and work on this tome!

Comments»

1. johnb - April 17, 2010

was Beetlebaum a “real” racehorse or just a song performed by Spike Jones/

2. bobv451 - April 17, 2010

I have no idea. I remember hearing it on my dad’s 78rpm so it is way old. The dim recesses of my memory say that this is a WWII name (something like Kilroy) and probably had some humorous connotation to it. But I really don’t know. My best guess is that it isn’t the name of a real racehorse.

3. Johann Gambleputty - February 2, 2013

If you listen to “dance of the Hours ” by Spike, he recounts an auto race, (as Doodles Weaver) in which the winner is “Beetlebaum.” So Beetle must be a human, no?

bobv451 - February 2, 2013

You’ve got me on this one. The version I (in dim distant past) remember has lines like “Suspender is in the stretch” and other names that make it sound like a horse race.

What is it about this post that makes it so popular? Not even the nudist camp in Balboa Park has elicited so much attention.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,193 other followers

